The Campaign’s Over; What Did We Tell the Kids?

During lunch yesterday (Tue., 11/6/2012), we were talking about how glad we were that election season was almost over.  I’m delighted that I don’t have to watch the mud-slinging between candidates for several offices.  On many recent evenings, we’ve found that a negative ad for one candidate was followed by one for his/her opponent, over and over.

To me, the least attractive aspect of these ads is the message they send to our children.   Once again, what children see on TV doesn’t demonstrate the values that parents’ want to teach to their children.

One of these values is respect.  Those of us who believe human beings are worthwhile are appalled.  I believe we need to teach children to be kind and caring.  These “He’s used his office to better only himself”  and “She’s a cheater” ads are the opposite of how I want my children to speak of others.

Another value is integrity.  With the contradictory statements made by opponents, it’s hard to believe both sides could possibly be telling the truth, statistical spins aside.  We’ve heard a lot about fact checking in this election year.  I want my children to do their research, check the facts and be accurate as well as honest.

Along with freedom, these are the kind of values upon which the US was founded.  I believe in freedom of speech, but wish we would speak the truth.  I wish we would use politeness and be cordial with one another.  I wish we would listen before we strike out at the speaker.

One of my lunch mates noted that she wished each candidate would simply draft a statement of where s/he stands on issues and ignore the opponent.   It sure would make it easier for people like me to choose a candidate and to choose one I could be proud to support!

I read the following quote on election day morning.  It’s from William Ewart Gladstone, a British Statesman in the 19th Century (Prime Minister four times and Chancellor of the Exchecquer) AND one who spoke of dreams similar to my own. His statement is this:

“We look forward to the time when the power of love will replace the love of power.  Then will our world know the blessings of peace.”

I’m raising children who understand the power of love, respect, and integrity.  I’m helping others to do the same.  Join me.

Live Inspired:  think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; forgive easily; laugh frequently; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Campaign’s Over; What Did We Tell the Kids?

  1. Mary says:

    So true Melissa! Well said!

So, what do you think?

